A Barcelona Weekend

I spent my first weekend in Barcelona with my host family. On Saturday, Iñaki and Guillermo had field hockey games. Iñaki’s game was on Mount Montjuic near the Palace Reial and Olympic Stadium from 1992. Patricia, my host mom, showed me the Olympic Stadium, Sant Jordi Palau (Saint George Palace), and the Palace Reial. Each if them look very different, but very beautiful. Guillermo’s field hockey game was at the Polo Club. In between games, the twins, Jorge and Pablo, took turns chasing me around the house. Later that night I went shopping with Patricia and Alejandra, my host sister, and watched Iron Man (in English) with Guillermo, my host brother, and Nacho, my host dad.

Sunday was full of adventures and Jorge and Pablo’s birthday. My family along with 4 other families with WKU student teachers spent the day together. We started the day by driving to the countryside of Barcelona at the Torres Vineyard. After getting a tour of the vineyard and wine making process, we got to do a little wine tasting. This area of Spain was surrounded by mountains and green spaces, it was gorgeous. Next, we headed to the beach at Sitges on the Mediterranean Sea, which of course was beautiful. We had a picnic on the beach, walked the strip, and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Once we arrived back home, family came over to celebrate the twins 4th birthday. I didn’t know much of what was said but I enjoyed the cake.

Yesterday (Monday) the SPED girls and I ventured up to Mount Tibidabo. There is yet another beautiful cathedral and a small amusement park on the top of this mountain. The top of the mountain is also a great place to view the entire city of Barcelona. Once we got back to our neighborhood, we found an ‘American Restaurant’ decorated like a 50’s diner. The food was good and very stereotypical with burgers, fries, and milkshakes.

Also this week, I started a new school schedule. Last week I was only teaching 4th grade science and English, but now I have secondary English too. I have an advanced class of 17 year olds and a low class of 15 year olds. I really enjoy having primary and secondary classes. My primary students are fun because they are young and at the early stages of learning English, but my secondary students are fun because they are fairly fluent in English so We can go more in depth.

Tomorrow (Wednesday) is the last day of this school week. Thursday is May Day, which is like our Labor Day, so the school is closed on Thursday and Friday. The SPED girls and I are taking advantage of this long weekend by traveling to Italy. We will be spending two nights and a day in Rome and one night and one day in Florence and Venice. This will be an exciting and exhausting weekend!

It’s hard to believe my month in Spain is almost half over.

Leave a Reply

