Time Flies

I cannot believe my time in Barcelona is already over.  I slacked on blogging my last week, but all I wanted to do was spend time with my host family. So, let me catch you up on my last week and my travels back to Kentucky.

On Monday I spent the day at school and home with my host family.  We played every game imaginable on the ipad, hide ‘n seek, soccer, and anything else the twins could come up with.  

On Tuesday we had one last journey in Barcelona. After school we walked to the FC Barcelona Futbol Stadium.  This was probably my favorite place I saw in Spain.  We got tour the stadium; we were down by the field, up in the box seats, in the team chapel, in the guest locker room, and the museum.  After we finished the tour, we grabbed dinner on the go and headed to Park Guell.  Park Guell is an outdoor park with tons of mosaics designed by Antonio Gaudi, which is the same architect from Sagrada Familia.  His house is also a part of the park.  The view was beautiful and the details were amazing.  This was my second favorite part of Barcelona.  Overall, Tuesday ended up being a perfect last day to go on an excursion in Barcelona.

Wednesday was a very bittersweet day.  It was my last day in Barcelona, my last day teaching at Colegio Reial Monestir de Santa Isabel (RMSI), and my last night to spend with my wonderful host family.  The school hosted a special lunch for all the WKU student teachers.  We all got to eat lunch with our cooperating teachers, and got recognized.  They gave us a t-shirt and yearbook as well.  My class of 4th grade boys made me a huge card, which I absolutely love.  After school, I went home and spent every minute with the kids.  We played every game imaginable until Pablo and Jorge learned how to take selfies on my phone.  We had a traditional spanish omelet for dinner, which is delicious, and before I knew it, it was time for bed.  The next morning I had to meet at the school before the kids get up, but all 5 of them got up to say one last goodbye.  My family gave me a necklace so now I know they are always with me when I wear it.

On Thursday morning it was time to say goodbye to Barcelona.  After 8 hours I was back in the US, 6 hours later I was in Nashville, and by 9:00pm Thursday night I was home in Kentucky.  

I can say for a fact it was not a goodbye, but a see you later.  I cannot wait for the day I can return to Barcelona and visit my spanish family. They hold a very special place in my heart, along with everyone at RMSI. This opportunity has truly been unforgettable and much too short.  I have loved every minute of my time abroad.  

Leave a Reply

